Wednesday, March 27, 2013

The 38 United States That Ban Same Sex Marriage

The 38 States that Ban Same-Sex Marriage ("SSM")

SOURCE: USA Today.  Click Here for USA Today's interactive map on this issue. 

States that Ban SSM
States that Allow SSM

States That Neither Ban Nor Permit SSM

  1. Alabama
  2. Alaska
  3. Arizona
  4. Arkansas
  5. California
  6. Colorado
  7. Connecticut
  8. Delaware
  9. Florida
  10. Georgia
  11. Hawaii
  12. Idaho
  13. Illinois
  14. Indiana
  15. Iowa
  16. Kansas
  17. Kentucky
  18. Louisiana
  19. Maine
  20. Maryland
  21. Massachusetts
  22. Michigan
  23. Minnesota
  24. Mississippi
  25. Missouri
  26. Montana
  27. Nebraska
  28. Nevada
  29. New Hampshire
  30. New Jersey
  31. New Mexico
  32. New York
  33. North Carolina
  34. North Dakota
  35. Ohio
  36. Oklahoma
  37. Oregon
  38. Pennsylvania
  39. Rhode Island
  40. South Carolina
  41. South Dakota
  42. Tennessee
  43. Texas
  44. Utah
  45. Vermont
  46. Virginia
  47. Washington
  48. West Virginia
  49. Wisconsin
  50. Wyoming
Also, Washington, D.C. permits same-sex marriage. 

Same-Sex Marriage Symbol

Of the 38 state laws that ban gay marriage, only one, Proposition 8 out of California, has been considered by the Supreme Court. We await word on the outcome of the argument in that case held on March 26, 2013 Should SCOTUS overrule Proposition 8, then all of the red states above will change to orange states

Then, as the years go by, it is presumed that many will become green states...

If, on the other hand, SCOTUS upholds Proposition 8, the red states  and green states will presumably stay as they are for the foreseeable future, and the orange states will either stand pat, or make a final decision on this issue.

SCOTUS is also considering the legality of the the Federal Defense of Marriage Act ("DOMA"). Click Here for our analysis of the DOMA issue before the U.S. Supreme Court. 

No comments: